What Is an IAM Certification?

What is a IAM certification

Have you been researching IT asset management (ITAM) and heard about the Identity and Access Management (IAM) certification? Many businesses or IT professionals need clarification, wondering if this certification or IAM professionals are needed in their workplace. 

This article will provide you with all the details you need to know about IAM certification courses and where it fits in with your overall ITAM needs. Keep reading for all the information.

Is There an IAM Certification?

IAM standards were developed by the Department of Defense (DoD) in 2004. While these qualification standards are still highly relevant to ensure information and technical security in business operations, there is no true IAM certification that’s relevant to today’s IT space. 

Instead, you have a lot of individual certifications and experience-related qualifications that fall under different IAM levels. So instead of looking for the best IAM certification, you should search for the best certifications that help you achieve the level of IAM service you need for your career or business. 

For instance, IAM professionals would often want to have certificates like:

  • CAP
  • CompTIA Security+
  • GISF
  • GSLC


We’ll cover more about what qualifications fall under each level later in this article.

What Are IAM Certifications?

IAM stands for Identity and Access Management. Essentially, these certifications fall under cybersecurity and data management. Both of those aspects are essential to get the best results from IT asset management that is focused on optimizing how IT assets are used in a business environment. 

Parts of ITAM that focus on IAM aspects would include disposition, where information must be cleared from hard drives, and cybersecurity protocols to prevent outside threats or internal data leaks during daily operations. So applying IAM standards to how you manage your inventory, data storage, and access protocols is crucial to success.

How to Start a Career in IAM

The best starting point for a career in IAM is usually obtaining a bachelor’s degree in cybersecurity, information technology, or other computer-related fields. Then once you start working in the IT industry and gain relevant experience, working your way up the IAM certification path can be a good next step.

What Are the Levels of IAM Certification?

When working your way through the IAM career path, you’ll want to become familiar with the IT Asset Management certification levels. There are three levels of certification under IAM: Level 1, Level 2, and Level 3. Essentially, these IAM levels work their way up from beginner to intermediate to advanced as you progress your career and knowledge base. 

Let’s take a look at the differences between these three levels.

What Is the Difference Between IAM Level 1 and Level 2?

As mentioned, the main difference between IAM levels 1 and 2 is where you are in your career path. Someone obtaining IAM level 1 certification would be learning how to install and operate IT systems while configuring basic security procedures. This is a great start for those who are in an entry-level position in the IT or cybersecurity field. 

When you work your way into IAM level 2, you will be learning about intermediate-level end-user support and analyzing system performance to continuously stay on top of information and security needs throughout an organization. 

If you’re planning to implement IT Asset Management Best Practices into your company, having professionals who are certified in these IAM levels can be an excellent idea. It’ll help ensure you deploy the right security measures at each step of the process.

What Is IAM Level 3 Certification?

Someone who is looking to obtain IAM level 3 must have at least ten years of experience in the IT or cybersecurity field. These are advanced certifications and processes that require a great degree of knowledge. During these certifications, professionals will learn how to create an entire set of IAM policies and procedures for organizations, develop a proper workplace structure, and maintain a secure enclave environment. 

This type of knowledge is usually best suited for management personnel who would be leading cybersecurity or data management teams. Plus, they can make a great addition to your ITAM processes to ensure they are implemented with security in mind at each level.

How Multiply Can Help With Your IT Asset Management Needs

If you’re looking for help and guidance with setting up a complete IT asset and data management system, Multiply can be an excellent partner for your needs. 

Our team at Multiply is composed of IT consultants and senior service technicians who have years of experience in the field. We’ve successfully helped many companies perform audits, set up ITAM inventories, streamline their systems, and bridge communications between all teams involved. We’re confident we can help you achieve success too. 

Within our ITAM systems, we aim to ensure data and cybersecurity every step of the way by implementing appropriate processes and procedures that avoid data leaks and attacks from outside threats. That way, you can rest assured that your data is always secure. 

Contact us today to learn more about how Multiply can help! 

Related Articles

WHAT IS IT Asset Management ITIL

What Is IT Asset Management ITIL?

Learn about the three main deliverables involved in IT asset management and how create a process to meet them.
What certifications do you need for asset management

What Certifications Do You Need for Asset Management?

Learn about the three main deliverables involved in IT asset management and how create a process to meet them.
Which certification is best for software asset management

Which Certification Is Best for Software Asset Management?

Learn about the three main deliverables involved in IT asset management and how create a process to meet them.

Let's Connect!